People's shopping habits depend more on the age group they belong to than other factors. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Parallel with advances in technology, people’s shopping patterns have changed dramatically. Some people claim that individuals’ age has the most significant impact on their shopping tendency. From my perspective, however, there are many other key factors that influence people’s shopping decisions. One primary reason is gender. Females and males have totally different tendencies in purchasing goods. Women are willing to spend money on clothes and other things for dressing up. On the other hand, men tend to purchase goods that are useful instead of luxury products. Take adults in Taiwan as an instance; Females in this country spend most of their money on buying computers and other gadgets that can be used on a daily basis. However, Taiwanese girls spend their salary on purchasing make-up and clothes. As a result, sex has a profound impact on individuals’ decisions on shopping. In addition to gender, fellows also have a notable influence on people’s buying habits. Empirical studies have provided considerable evidence that individuals are easily changed by people around them. The closer they are, the easier they can be affected. As a consequence, friends might be a significant factor in people’s shopping tendencies. For example, in order to integrate into their friend zones, youngsters tend to buy the same goods, such as clothes or smartphones. Therefore, friends can also affect people’s shopping decisions. By way of conclusion, I firmly disagree that the most impactful factor in people’s shopping habits is age. Not only does gender have an impact on individuals’ buying tendencies, but people’s fellows can also influence their decisions.