To meet the growing needs of food for the increasing population, country should make use of edible insects as foods. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but affect negatively the nature too. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

There are some growing arguments among some communities about the consumption of insects,as a solution for poring a number of population and their requirements. However,some parts of the communities still do not convince of this opine since their attitudes towards the insects as a food and likely damage to nature such as pollination. Although this is true, there are some positive sides of this like good nutrient content and easily accessible food sources. In the following essay, this writer wishes to further elaborate on this topic. To begin with,when we consider its negative side, unfortunately since ancient times people have had some negative feelings about insects as food and most cultures were not accepting eating insects. Furthermore, most researchers believe,bees are the main responsible insects for pollination and without them, our food supply will spiral within a short period of time. For instance, according to research conducted by Oxford University, 95% of the pollination of major crops of humans is done by bees. On other hand, there are some positive sides of this like, insects are very good sources of amino acids which are essential precursors of human proteins. At the same time, it provides other valuable nutrients like lipids, minerals and vitamins in high quantities. According to most research, insects can be easily grown in a large group and we can use genetic engineering to change their size and nutrient contents. For example in India,scientists have been able to develop a new insect species which contain nutrient content similar to an egg. In conclusion, to overcome the current and future nutrient requirements,people have to search for new food sources. Although it is having some cultural issues, due to its high availability of nutrient content and easiness of growth, insects are emerging as a good source of food to fulfil this crucial requirement.