The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society?

Nowadays, smoking is prohibited in public places because it is hazardous effects on health and the environment. However, there are some individuals that are addicted to smoking regardless of its effects on well-being. In this essay, I will discuss, the reasons why some people smoke and how to decrease these habits in the public. There are various reasons why people smoke because they think that it will relieve their stress and reduce weight. Having one cigarette a day will ease their tension by inhaling the smoke. For example, some individuals tend to smoke two cigarettes before eating to suppress their appetite. As a result, they become addicted to smoking and crave more cigarettes. In addition, some young adult smokes because they are influenced by their friends and families. Many of them started smoking when they are young. As they grow old, they carry these habits and eventually can not stop them even they have problems in breathing. They reason out that they survive for long years because of smoking. The problem of smoking can affect the health of many individuals whether a person is a passive or active smoker. According to a study, inhaling tar can cause lung problems such as emphysema, lung cancer and other pulmonary diseases. With these given problems, the government should make a rule to increase tax on cigarettes and ban smoking in public places. This strategy would help smokers to stop smoking. In conclusion, the government should implement high taxes on a tobacco companies and implement a total ban on smoking in the public. This is to eliminate the health problems brought about by smoking.