Some people who have been successful in society don't attribute their success to the theretical knowledge they learnt from their university. Do you agree that theoritical knowledge is not as valuable as expected?

There are various factors contributing to success so some people claim that theoretical knowledge is useless and pointless. From my perspective, I am not in favour of this opinion, believing that the knowledge imparted in the college can make a difference when making ourselves successful. First of all, we have learnt a great many stories introducing elite people, such as entrepreneurs and scientists, without formal tertiary education, which, to some extent, motivates lots of young people to seek success in their working fields, instead of pursuing a university certificate. For example, neither Bill Gates nor Steve Jobs had graduated from college, but they have made great achievements. As a result, theories taught in higher education tend not to be as important as practice experience. However, it does not mean that everyone can be successful just by practical experience. After all, higher education is a must for many careers, say, doctor and lawyer, to name but a few, because the increasing number of professions require professional expertise to grapple with complex problems, nowadays. For instance, a doctor needs to know specific knowledge and skills, most of which are taught in college, whereby diagnosing illnesses and treating them in a proper manner. Otherwise, they have to spend more time and effort gaining experience, which is by no means the most effective approach. Therefore, under no circumstance should we ignore the importance of theoretical expertise, which cannot only lay a solid foundation for personal development but can increase the chance of success. In conclusion, although the argument seems reasonable in some regards, it is too absolute to be true.