The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that thebest way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the increasing number of obese population is really putting some pressure on the healthcare system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. However, some of them think that this problem can be easily tackled by the introduction of health lessons in the school curriculum, I disagree with this thought. Firstly, there are a lot of sugar products and junk food easily available at arm's stretch at a very affordable price. The government should increase the price of these non-healthy products and reduce the prices of healthy products such as salads, proteins, fruits and vegetables in order to encourage people towards a healthy lifestyle. People should get more access to healthy food at an affordable price. On the other hand, there are a lot of schools where the students have a provision of physical education as a subject in their curriculum perhaps not many of them take it seriously as it is considered to be a fun lecture for the young minds who do not understand the logic and motive behind the subject. I believe the enlightenment of knowledge starts at home, school and the company people keep. The government must conduct events for health awareness at schools, community centres, etc. to educate not only young people but also adults about leading a healthy lifestyle. Therefore, in conclusion, there has been a tremendous increase in the number of obese people and it is indeed putting a lot of strain on the healthcare system but I do not completely agree that introducing more physical education lessons in school will solve this issue.