In many countries, sports stars earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that sports stars earn too much money, while others claim that they deserve their high salaries. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often argued that athletes' salaries are immensely high in a lot of countries. Some think they receive more than they should. While there are people who assume it is an appropriate amount of income for players. In my opinion, they have the right to receive such earnings. In this essay, I will elaborate on both sides in detail. On the one hand, some argue that sports professionals do not contribute to society, unlike doctors and workers in medical care. Firstly, despite the fact that doctors and medical staff are at high risk of getting a disease from patients, their annual income tends to be a lot less than soccer troupe or baseball troupe. Secondly, days that certain competitors are actually able to play or have matches are limited. For example, baseball tournaments are held only between April and October in Japan, and other than those seasons, players do not have to be in a game. On the other hand, individuals also need to consider the fact that professional athletes need a lot of effort to keep their health and body in order to play well and win competitions. They need to take adequate food and nutrition on a daily basis throughout the year. For instance, boxers are under huge pressure to keep their weight, and therefore they need to control what to eat and how much water they drink each day. On top of that, in case they are injured, they need to see a doctor and that would cost a fair amount of money. To conclude, there is no doubt sports stars should be paid higher than other types of occupations as they need to maintain their body condition. I do believe they are worth receiving high salaries.