You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

With the advancement of technology, online shopping is more prevalent nowadays. In this essay, I will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of online shopping and express my own view on this issue. The most worrying drawback of cyber shopping is identity theft. In order to proceed with purchases on the internet, we need to register and upload our personal information, such as name, address, identity card number etc, to the corresponding store website. Due to the growing cybersecurity problem, our personal data may be stolen and used by hackers to commit fraud or other crimes. Thus, people will lead to a financial loss accordingly. Furthermore, some online shoppers provide e-wallet facilities for their members to make payments instantly. Hackers may also hack into the e-wallet account and transfer the money out. Therefore, cyber security is the main concern for shopping on the internet. However, other than the downsides mentioned above, there are several upsides to purchasing on the internet. Firstly, it is more convenient than shopping before the internet era. From searching for a product to placing an order and making payment, the transaction can be completed within ten minutes. With virtual shopping, people do not need to go out and shop around in different malls. Moreover, we can compare other sellers’ prices in order to get the most bargaining one. For instance, we can get the price information of air tickets, books or groceries through google search, lists of prices from different shops are shown on the search result immediately. In conclusion, although there is a risk of cybercrime when we do online purchases, the benefits of convenience and economical returns are outweighed the drawbacks.