Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people argue that purchasing anything online has become popular nowadays. While there are some negative consequences of this behaviour, I would argue that its benefits outweigh the drawbacks regarding price competition and encourage small-medium enterprises. First of all, buying things on the internet will promote consumerism behaviour. People will get anything that they want impulsively, although what they bought is not necessary. Furthermore, it has been proved by research that almost 80 per cent of stuff that was bought on the internet have been dumped. Another drawback is that this particular habit will make people not save their money for their future. They will waste their money because they can shop online and not allocate their money for making an investment for their future Meanwhile, online marketplace has boosted up the revenue of small-medium enterprises. This development has already opened the access to people for selling many things, and it will be bought by customers easily. Moreover, because the online marketplace has made the price competetion between sellers become rigorous. In other words, it will benefit the customer because they have access to compare prices of stuff between one sellers on the internet. Thus, sellers will compete for their stuff's price, so that customers will be interested in buying their goods. In conclusion, although there are some negative impacts of purchasing online, such as impulsive purchasing and promoting lavish lifestyle, it is outweighed by the benefits, particularly in increasing revenue of the SMEs and making the price competition to be more competitive.