People are surrounded by advertisement which has an increased effect on our lives. Do you think the positive effects of this outweigh the negative effects?

The public are filled with advertisements around them, thus having a growing effect on day to day lives. Even though we are living in a digitalised world with many possibilities, commercials are still causing a great amount of problems. This essay thinks that a surplus of marketing tactics by companies is negatively affecting us. The first reason is unnecessary distraction, it may seem negligible at first glance but it may conclude in serious outcomes. Advertisements not only waste people’s time but putting them in a dangerous situation. A clear example are billboards on roads which cause many accidents to occur, despite this the authorities somehow still allow companies to freely post big signs on highways and busy roads. Although, commercials do benefit businesses by helping the grow, but companies can promote anything they want, including: unhealthy products to children. The youth are easily deceivable and seeing their favourite celebrity advertising an unhealthy food or drink leads to more global problems such as: diabetes and overweight problems in youngsters. For instance, in the USA, the rise of obesity is contributed to the fact of commercials airing each day showing unbelievably damaging foods for your body, hence the overwhelming majority of people there have health problems. To sum up, being surrounded by marketing strategies does not favour ordinary citizens, but putting pressure on them to buy things the do not need. Nowadays people are accustomed to ads, and in the future seeing them will be nothing more than an ordinary task.