Nowdays many people go shopping for leisure, What are the advantages and disadvantages for individuals and society? To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, shopping is a popular pastime for many people, rather than just a chore. While some people are concerned about this phenomenon on, others argue it is advantageous. this has both positive and negative consequences for individuals and for society, which I will discuss in this essay. There are several advantages to shopping for leisure. For individuals, it is an enjoyable activity that can be exciting or satisfying and provides strong motivation to work in order to earn money. Moreover, shopping is considered an opportunity where we spend time with friends or family having conversations that are crucial to our social. It could reduce the level of stress. From society’s point of view, a healthy retail industry can provide plenty of job opportunities. As a result, it has positive effects on the national economy. However, there are some negative aspects too. It is possible for people to become addicted to shopping resulting in spending more money on retail therapy than they can afford, this is worsened by the fact that we are surrounded by such powerful and attractively advertising and constant sales, which prey on those who lack self-control. On a wider scale, society’s obsession with shopping leads to materialism, which psychologists consider unhealthy. It may even cause more crime, as people steal to satisfy their desires. Lastly, the high production of goods uses up resources such as energy and raw materials, which exist only in limited supplies. Overall, shopping for leisure has its advantages and disadvantages. The former includes the contributions to people ’s pleasure, job creation, and the economy, but the latter includes the dangers of overspending, materialism, and the overuse of natural resources.