Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

More than any time in history people are purchaising a wide range of items through online shopping. The pupose of this essay is to discuss why I am inclined to the view that the gains of e-commerce considerably prevail over the drawbacks. One of the cogent reasons for buying products online is due to its practicality. This is because, in order to buy an item it is not necessary to go to the store, but rather using your computer or cellphone to make the purchase, saving you time. Furthermore, online shopping enables clients to compare prices among different stores. To illustrate this, there are some websites, such as Booking or Tripadvisor, that display a variety of accommodations and their corresponding prices, in order to give customers better options. Therefore, shopping this way can save you time and money. However, there are some downsides that cannot be ignored, one of which is that this type of shopping promote consumerism. Although, some peple can keep control when acquiring things online, there are those that buy products not needed due to the easiness of purchasing products online. For instance, many videos on Tiktok, that show people buying dozes of clothes and trying them on, receive many viewers. Thus, people are encouraged to purchase items that they will not use, only to have more followers. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that the benefits of e-shopping in terms of being practical and give you the possibility to save money by comparing different prices for the same product, seem to predominate over the disadvantages such as the spread of unnecessary purchase of items. Given this situation, it seems that people should evaluate if the item purchased would be used, in order to get the proper advantages of online shopping.