Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages to this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Several companies sponsor sports because they want to advertise their products. Some people say that it is a good initiative. However, various individuals think that there are disadvantages to this. These opinions will be elaborated on in this essay. The financial help from global or local corporations that are given to our events is the main enabler to execute the occasion. Numerous competitions and teams usually do not have enough money to manage themselves. For example, a famous competition of PON in Indonesia has a budget of approximately Rp10,000,000,000, while the expected income from the guests is only around half of it. Moreover, the entities that are advertised are often beneficial, especially for the players. For instance, Allianz's insurance commodities are actually relevant to the needs of the club members. So, sponsorships have mutual benefits to the organizations as well as the events. Nevertheless, it is true that there are many negative impacts, including the irrelevancy of the things that are promoted. To illustrate, there had been an uproar in the football world when a top player, Christiano Ronaldo, rejected to drink Coca-Cola. He said to the media that a player like him has to drink fresh water to preserve his health because there is too much sugar in the coke. To add, there is a chance where the companies may force the organizations to use their irrelevant items, which may be destructive. Hence, the managers of an event ought to understand the details of their collaboration plans with the other parties. To summarize, I have a strong agreement that advertisements are good because of the mutual profits. However, I also believe that this type of program has risks that need to be thought out to achieve our expected goals.