Some people prefer to directly help or support people who need it in the local community, however, others prefer to give money to national or international charities. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that helping people in the local community would be beneficial for the development of society. While I agree this is a good way to contribute, I believe that financial help to bigger organizations such as national and international charities could be more advantageous. On the one hand, direct help to needy ones would result in the sense of benevolence in a benefactor and encourage her to do more. In this way, a person could ensure about her help and see the result. For example, giving food to hungry people is one way to support the neighbourhood to have more balanced. In addition, taking care of others may not only profit them but also ourselves by giving the feeling of being an efficient and active member of society. However, it only affects a small scale such as a district but there are more people waiting for help. On the other hand, I think giving money to national and international charities would be more effective. Firstly, financial help is much easier than the other ways. Also, members of charities are often professionals who exactly know the need of each indigent which result in a better outcome. Secondly, there would be more money to help if more population give that to these organizations instead of supporting needy ones directly. Finally, there may be people who need our aid more than a population that we know and it is part of these associations’ job to find them. In conclusion, although any kind of contribution to society is important and beneficial, I believe that the donation to bigger charities would be more fruitful.