The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is a statement that the only method of improving road safety is to implement harsh punishments for driving violations. Personally, this method can be effective to some extent but I believe that there are still more possible solutions. Firstly, the implementation of harsher punishments can have a great impact on people ’s awareness and reduce traffic accidents, which is beneficial for improving road safety. The more people know about how much lawbreakers will be fined, the more they will be in fear of committing offences. For instance, if there is a spreading news saying that drunk drivers are fined 50$ instead of 20$ as usual, it will attract the huge attention of not only drivers but also people who hear of the news and also successfully raise individuals’ awareness. Moreover, there can be a reduction in the number of traffic accidents due to the fear of getting punishments for traffic violations. In other words, with the fear of being punished, people will become more careful while driving, contributing to making high-accidental roads less dangerous and minimizing the number of accidents. Besides, there are still various other solutions to cope with driving violations and boost road safety. One suggested solution is to harden driving tests in order to ensure that drivers are skilful enough to get driving licenses, encouraging people to obey traffic regulations properly. Furthermore, involving driving rules in the curriculum at schools can be an effective method. Teaching children about road safety early can form a mindset for following traffic laws strictly when they grow up, resulting in better road safety. To sum up, while the idea of imposing stricter penalties to minimize traffic offences can be beneficial for enhancing road safety, I believe that this is not the only method, but there are still more ways to deal with this problem.