In many countries students who leave high school have no understanding of how to manage their money. Why is this case? What can be done to improve students’ understanding of how to manage personal finance?

It is easy to notice that many high school students are lack of ability to manage how to spend their money properly. This essay will analyze the main reasons and offer some possible solutions. One major reason leading to the poor awareness of personal finance lies in the fact that overindulgence and overprotection from parents lead to the unawareness of the paramount importance of money for student. For example, some parents pay over the amount of pocket money to children, or purchase expensive electronics for adults. Therefore, students tend to have no proper guidance over lavishing money upon unnecessary purchases without forethought. Another reason worth mentioning is that the education system pays more attention to students ’ academic performance. Consequently, students are not always able to take sensible precautions for managing the budget. Especially considering the fact that students today tend to prioritize short-term needs and wants over long-term goals, parents and schools should do something to make a difference. I think the key factor to alleviating the situation is for parents and schools to pay more attention to the perception of students money value. For example, parents could help students know what is important before purchasing, exploring the rule by finishing household work and rewarding the pocket money with the purpose of teaching them how to make money. Schools should place more emphasis on essential soft skills, including personal financial management. Teachers can take the practice case in their syllabus and make students involved in real-life stories. In this way, students are more likely to be adequately educated and able to manage their money in the future. To conclude, the student's awareness of lacking dealing with personal finance should be addressed from the effort of parents and school as well.