Nowadays many people believe that in spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Over the last years, there have been a lot of advances in the way people tend to grow their crops. Despite these improvements, there are still a lot of people who are malnourished. From my point of view, I think that this occurred because of the low quality of infrastructure in the poorer regions in the world instead of the bad quality of farming. Below, I will give some reasons for this thought. Firstly, the crops are grown by companies who want to make a profit. Because of this, they tend to sell their products for the highest price possible. This behaviour of companies will always lead to a situation in which communities are hungry somewhere in the world. For example, Someone from Europa wants to pay 1 dollar for a crop and someone from Africa has to feed his family for only 80 cents a day. In situations like this, a company will always sell its crop for 1 dollar. Next to that, the infrastructure in the poorer regions is not as good as in some other modern civilizations. Consequently, sometimes it is impossible to transfer all the good to all ends of the world. For instance, some roads in Australia can’t be used on certain days. This leads to a situation in which some products can’t be transported over the road. The above-mentioned problems can be solved if we can force companies to sell a specific proportion of their crops under the cost-price to the poorer community. Furthermore, we can also enforce the biggest companies in the world an additional tax. This tax can be used for upgrading the infrastructure in the poorer areas. Concluded, If we can make sure that we can ensure both better infrastructure and more export then we can reduce hunger in the world.