In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, in some countries, we live more years than we use to live which report some benefits but there are drawbacks that should not be dismissed. It is probably true to say that the main question is life quality and not expectancy as, what is the point of longevity if we cannot actually enjoy it? Firstly, there is a wide range of advantages of living for longer a time although I truly believe, life experience itself tourns out to be the most crucial one. Not only scientific progress, including either medical advances or new drugs development, but also health consciousness have made the difference throughout these last decades. Therefore, providing all these resources, elderly people can happily enjoy more their last years rather than feeling out of play. For example, travelling, spending time with their families, meeting up together to simply drink a coffee or just having a walk. As far as they feel vital and energetic enough to keep quite active and take pleasure from little moments, it is undeniable that the increase in life expectancy is such a major accomplishment. On the other hand, in some specific cases, downsides could outweigh benefits. There is no doubt that, as time goes though, mental health becomes more compromised since, for instance, dementia and depression rates rise exponentially. I certainly do not think the medical system is efficient enough in those events, as for chronic diseases or pluri- pathological scenarios, where drugs are whether overused or misused. Consequently, within these complex elderly patients’ frustration, confusion and sadness might appear becoming less autonomous hence living with a lack of perspective and more dependent. To conclude, in terms of life’s span, the bottom line is how we actually project ourselves in it. No one would disagree on living more time if that means quality time. However, in my view, new scopes of medicine should be displayed such as preventing major chronic illnesses rather than chemically avoid their symptoms.