People these days watch TV, films and other programmes alone rather than with other people. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages

Nowadays, online platforms of streaming are becoming popular among certain adults and adolescents. While the majority of people tend to watch entertainment with others, some people feel that it’s common to watch alone. In my opinion, the drawbacks related to watching TV do not outweigh the positives. More and more people fancy enjoying their programs on TV alone due to their insular viewing habits. Firstly, they can concentrate on their own movies without consulting others. Secondly, watching shows alone allows great flexibility. For example, choosing entertainment that matches their taste. An individual can pause, stop and switch to other programs freely. In my opinion, watching entertainment without disturbing others can be more convenient. The main disadvantage of individual watching personality is loosened social bonds between family members. Moreover, in the past, the family might watch TV together, joke about it, discuss ideas, exchange feelings through the films and then have a common point of reference for later conversations. However, when it comes to the modern era, everything seems to be a more self-reliant society. Taking Netflix for instance, this application has been created for individual users. This streaming platform picks up some movies from individual subscribers’ interests, not from all members’ interests. These issues might be affected the relationship between members and may be difficult to reverse. To conclude, enjoying the shows on TV together has benefits in terms of maintaining the connection between family members. Personally, this is a negative development of social media platforms despite it is extremely convenient for you.