A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not wellmanaged. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism.

Plenty of areas across the globe depend on tourism as a major source of earning, unexpectedly, tourism might be a source of issues if it is not properly organized. Creating employment scope and improving infrastructure are the main advantages of tourism. However, generating pollution and rising living costs are the major drawbacks of tourism. The first good side of tourism is that it creates job opportunities for unemployed people. To be more exact, many tourism -related sectors like restaurants, hotels, transportation, and tour guide create thousands of vacancies every year, and by working in these sectors individuals can earn handsome salaries and may lead a happy life with their loved ones. At the same time, the number unemployment gets reduced from a nation. Another good point is that tourism helps a country to earn foreign currency. When foreign travelers visit a country they often spend huge amounts of money for recreation, food, shopping, and so on. To get these services they also have to pay taxes, by collecting these taxes from overseas visitor’s nation can enhance its foreign currency reserve for example, a significant proportion of Thailand’s GDP comes from the tourism sector every year. On the other hand, tourism also has some potential downsides. The main drawback is that tourism creates environmental pollution. To be more precise, tourists often throw many harmful stuff like plastic bottles, straws, and polybags here and there which often end up in our ocean and contaminate our water. resources which also causes the death of thousands of marine animals every year. For instance, every year, many endangered Blue whales die due to consuming plastic waste. Another disadvantage is that; tourism increases the cost of living. In other words, in a tourism area, people often have to spend more money on housing, food, and transportation which might be a burden, especially for the lower income family. As a result, people are often involved in illegal activity to manage their living expenses. In conclusion, it is true that tourism has certain advantages like it opens the door of employment for jobless people and assisting a nation to earn foreign exchange, however, tourism may lead to some negative things like creating environmental contamination and it is also responsible to increase costs of living if it is not well managed.