Children in many countries are eating more fast food and convenience snacks. Why are children doing this and hoxw serious are the consequences?

In recent times, the amount of junk food that young people eat has increased in many countries. This essay will analyze firstly the reason for this rise and secondly why this is an significant issue for children. In modern times, parents use most of their time working, sleeping or commuting. That is why there is a need of doing the housework in the shortest time possible, and one way of achieving this is buying fast food and convenience snacks because it is fast and relatively cheap. In addition, TV and internet advertising of junk food is targeted to children so that they ask their parents to buy it. An example of this is a website of a cookie company that has advertisements disguised as videogames in order to make children remember their product and crave it. The main problem with this behaviour is that it damages children's health. This will have future negative effects beyond health such as poor academic performace. Furthermore, this will bring adverse consequences to the society in the long term because it will reduce productivity, because an unhealthy worker is less productive. To prove this assertion is very simple: Countries like Japan with a very reduced fast food consumption have much higher productivity than those where junk food is ubiquitous. to sum up, these new alimentary habits caused by the lack of time of modern time families and fast food and snacks advertising will have negative consequences not only to children's health but also to their academic performance and, in the long term even to the countries productivity.