In the future, more people will choose to go on holiday in their own country and not travel abroad on holiday. Do you agree or disagree?

Travelling is a leisure activity. It is believed that more travellers will travel domestic in upcoming years rather than visiting abroad. I profoundly agree with this view because of various factors. However, I would like to shed some light on my views in the forthcoming paragraphs. Firstly, in the last couple of years, due to the ongoing COVID pandemic, most countries have closed their borders for tourists to curb COVID infections. Moreover, people who are allowed to enter foreign countries ought to go through stringent COVID tests multiple times. Additionally, travellers are bound to serve their quarantine for a certain number of days. All these extra procedures not only have made travel time consuming but also frustrated. Secondly, due to the travel restrictions, the tourism industry has faced an immense landslide. Airways companies have lost billions of dollars. Many small-size hotels and lodges have been closed. It is quite natural to set additional charges by companies to revive from the recent damage. Middle-class families, who used to like budget travel, now may have to sell their fortune for just one trip abroad. Practically this does not make sense to spend a hefty amount of money for a foreign trip when we can travel lavishly with the same amount of money within the country. At the same,time domestic travel is more convenient nowadays as in some countries, governments are arranging subsidized tour packages to boost up the tourism sectors. To conclude, although it is most people’s dream to visit foreign countries, due to the recent worldwide travel bans, tourists are spending their holidays within their countries and I believe this will be the trend in future.