More and more parents are allowing their children to play on computers and tablets as they think that children should learn technology skills. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages.

The developments of technology, especially in the digital platforms have offered many parents to choose computers and tablets as a method for children to expose to technology from an early age. Some people believe that this tendency is a miracle, while others protests said that this is a downtrend for teens when they grow up. In my perspective, I believe the merits outweigh the demerits On the positive side, computer skills are obvious in the new era of technology, which has completely revolutionized the way people work and communicate. Taking Covid 19 pandemic as an example, when everyone is forced to work and study via a virtual platform, it is very necessary to have a good command of technology to handle all the working processes online smoothly. This is also a wonderful chance for the teenager to obtain digital skills from the schoolyear as many jobs now require a decent knowledge of specific software like Microsoft Office. Moreover, the internet is open-source learning material for academic purposes, like Udemy or Linkedin – which contains millions of online courses for everyone to access and learn from them. As a result, people can easily gain information from online sources even from an early age However, there are several disadvantages. Firstly, children's free time can be better utilised with other activities. Although they may learn some technological skills, they mostly just play games, and in any,case computer skills are now taught in school. Of much more benefit is encouraging children to spend their free time interacting with other children, playing with normal toys, and playing other games outside, which will foster their creative, cognitive, and social skills. In conclusion, the benefits of allowing children to use computers and tablets outweigh the drawbacks. However, proper guidance and control from parents is required for the balance of children ’s development