In the future, nobody wiil buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays an ample amount of free material is available over the internet at any given time. This advancement might result in a deterioration in the usage of books and newspapers over the years to come. In my opinion, I am generally in disagreement with this notion, and I believe a segment of the population would still give importance to tangible sources of information. On one hand, it is more likely for most of us to move towards online mediums due to the convenience that technology has brought to us. In fact, we use these applications such as eBooks, kindle, and news apps more frequently than before. Moreover, it cannot be denied that information is available in real-time with a click of a button. For instance, live updates of the tense situation in Ukraine is telecasted around the world in a matter of seconds. Whereas this advancement in technology would certainly aid to the transition of readers from paper to digital screens. Despite the supporting arguments discussed in favour of technology taking over traditional reading materials. A significant proportion of the population is reluctant to give up on the primacy of offline reading. Especially the elderly generation is seen to be reading newspapers and novels on a daily basis even today. In addition, it is an undeniable fact that technology cannot take over the emotional connection created between the reader and the book itself. To sum up, even though there is an overwhelming availability of free content online, the centrality of books and newspapers cannot be avoided totally. Therefore, the sentiment of diminishing usage of these materials in the future cannot be generalized.