Some people say that the only reason for learning language is in order to travel or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the advent of the information age, more information is shared with the public by media, whereas some violent videos or movies might adversely influence individuals. In light of this fact, some people assert that media should be to blame for some violent behaviours. From my point of view, I disagree with this opinion to a large extent. Admittedly, violence in media might have a profound and lasting influence on children and juveniles, most of whom are immature both physically and mentally. That is, they may not be able to tell right from wrong as they usually lack the ability in critical thinking. Therefore, if they watch too many television programs or films with violent plots without guidance from parents or teachers, they might be prone to imitating the actions, which may be responsible for some violent behaviours. On account of these, I cannot deny that violent films and programs would affect young generations to some extent. Nonetheless, it might be not reliable to deduce that violence in media has a direct negative impact on violent behaviour. It is apparent that the majority of people in the world are adults, possessing the capability to judge which conducts are correct and legal. Hence, even they watch some violent TV programs and movies, I believe, only a few of them will act violent behaviours solely because of them. In addition, behaviour, to a large extent, may originate from the education environment. In general, the group of people who are educated in a decent environment might behave politely and carefully, even if they watch some violent videos. Thereby, it seems that the association between the violence in the media and violent conduct is not direct. To sum up, despite some undesirable influences on immature children, violence in media may not incur violent behaviour of adults, and the connection between these two concepts might not be direct enough. From my perspective, if parents could pay more attention to their children’s behaviour, violent conduct in society might decrease considerably.