In some countries, marriages are arranged by the parents but in other cases, people choose their own marriage partner. Discuss both systems.

For the majority of the entire population, marriage is one of the most crucial elements of life. Some societies are known for parents’ arranging future partners for their offspring, while in other nations, men and women enjoy the liberty to exercise their free will. The former, which used to be a universal phenomenon that could be found in most ancient nations, only exists in most Muslim countries like Afghanistan, Pakistan, Bhutan, and Saudi Arabia nowadays. The practice has been considered cruel and ultra-orthodox by intellectuals, social activists, and philosophers since the Enlightenment movement, as arranged marriages frequently led to dismay and distress within families. Meanwhile, forcing an individual into unwanted matrimony is seen as an audacious violation of basic human rights. For instance, in Afghanistan, teenage young girls face the dire condition of having to marry the first man whom they encounter; the fact that their future husband is 60 years old does not affect the final outcome. Although some may argue that love does not exist in most families and there are happy couples in the system, starting a family with a complete stranger can undoubtedly magnify the possibility of a tragic male-female alliance. Love marriages, on the other hand, are the product of the generational fight for freedom of choice. Unlike individuals whose lives are in the hands of their parents and other elderly relatives, emancipated societies allow people to select their life partners for various reasons, such as love and support. It is worth mentioning that while unhappy, unhealthy, and toxic relationships continue to happen among families formed by two willingly married persons, according to some research, domestic abuse and mental illness rates in these households are significantly lower than those who were arranged. In conclusion, for the benefit of the individual’s mental health and personal development, authorities should endorse basic autonomy of being able to choose the right person according to one’s free will to each person, as arranged marriages could reduce their chances of living flourishingly.