Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the importance of homework in students ’ success is indisputable. It is said that children are given too many assignments to do. From my point of view, although decent homework can be considered as the key to success, too much homework can have some negative effects. In this essay, I am going to look at why homework is essential, mentioning some negative effects of having too many tasks as well. There are many reasons why too many assignments can have a profound negative implication on students. First and foremost, it can lead to mental diseases such as depression. When the workload is too large, students will as a result be under a lot of pressure, stress, and anxiety. The high pressure of doing too much homework can lead to many problems such as lack of sleep and behavioural changes, which can therefore discourage many students from studying. A wide range of tasks to do can in addition deprive them of leisure time. Many pupils, especially juveniles, need to do many other activities such as cycling, swimming, hang out with their peers, to name but a few in their spare time. These kinds of activities can boost students ’ spirits and bring them physical health. Giving too much homework can consequently deprive them of doing these activities which cannot be learned in schools. There are on the other hand many reasons why homework is considered necessary for students ’ progress. Students can comprehend subjects that were given in classrooms by revising them at home. Not only can they have a better understanding of subjects but also their teachers can recognize their students ’ weak points. Besides, different assignments can help learners to upgrade their skills such as time managing and problem-solving. Students who are supposed to do their tasks within a specific deadline, learn how to manage their time and find brilliant ideas in time of crisis. Not only homework can help students in their studies but also it can help them to have a better performance in their exams and get good marks which can guarantee pupils’ careers in the future. In conclusion, giving students too many tasks is not without its downsides, such as mental diseases and aggressive behaviour, which lead students to feel unmotivated to continue their studies. The important role of adequate homework in students ’ success should not be ignored. Fully comprehending their lessons and managing their time by revising their exercises can be mentioned as its upsides.