In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Automatic technology has made a remarkable improvement in recent years and it will allow individuals to experience scenes where only passengers sit in running cars, which can only be watched in science fiction movies. The experience has some disadvantages in personal and social aspects, while in my opinion, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. It is considered that in the years to come, every means of transport will be automatically driven and the only persons inside will be travellers. I think that the benefits of using self-driving automobiles do overweigh the drawbacks. To start with, automatic driving helps to improve efficiency. This means that the public gets to do more during their travel time especially when there is congestion and they have to wait for a long time. For instance, when businessmen are on the way to the office, it allows them to address other issues simultaneously, like making phone calls, attending video conferences, sending E-mails. In addition, operators can have a rest on their journey to avoid being tired and the traffic accidents caused by exhausted drivers will decline dramatically. It is known that most vehicular tragedies are caused by human errors, but with the utilization of self-driving vehicles, such mistakes will be avoided which means that the riders will stay safe. To be specific, according to research, the primary cause of car accidents is distracted driving like using mobile phones, eating, or applying make-up. Hence, if individuals ride in automated transport, they can do whatever they want for their hands will not be occupied by driving. Moreover, it enables companies to find an effective solution and reduce the risks in some sectors which are dangerous for workers, like logistics. However, there are some drawbacks to automatic driving because,without a well-trained operator, passengers are exposed to threats. Although an automobile has been successfully programmed, there could still be possible and unexpected defects that may happen because technologies are continuously updating and almost all of this equipment may have a faulty code when an update was not properly and successfully done. For example, if a car’s artificial intelligence (AI) system malfunctions on its way and could not be taken over by humans in Standard Operating Procedures (SOP), commuters might be harmed and even killed in accidents. Secondly, employees related to the area of driving and service may lose their job opportunities in the new trend, which will lead to a heavy burden for society. Finally, if the new technology is widely applied, the old vehicles that are not suitable for it anymore have to be abandoned, which may cause damages to the environment. In conclusion, I believe that the positive impacts of using driverless automobiles outweigh the negative ones. This is because although there may be unavoidable concerns that could occur, the benefits this advancement can bring to society as a whole cannot be disregarded.