Many people think that fast food companies should not be allowed to advertise, while others believe that all companies should have the right to advertise. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Some people believe that fast food advertising should be banned. However, others think that a business has a right to advertise its product. In the following paragraphs, both of these views will be discussed in detail before the conclusion is reached. On the one hand, the advertisement of fast food should not be permitted because it will badly affect consumers' health. In other words, excessive fast food consumption leads to serious public health problems in the general population such as obesity, diabetes and hypertension as it contains high calories, saturated fat and sugar.To illustrate, research has found strong associations between increases in advertising for non-nutritious foods and rates of childhood obesity. Most children under age 6 cannot distinguish between programming and advertising. This can lead children to make unhealthy choices. Therefore, banning adverts for unhealthy foods would be likely to lead to a fall in purchases of them. On the other hand, some people might argue that it is appropriate for fast food companies to advertise because every industry has certain rights and protections to sell their products. Moreover, the junk- food industry also provides employment to many people. For example, a study shows that jobs in the fast- food sector such as McDonald's or KFC are a major area of youth employment. Another reason why fast food companies should be allowed to advertise is that people are definitely responsible for the choices they make. It is their responsibility to take care of their own health. Therefore, a complete ban on the advertisement of the junk- food industry may not be helpful. In conclusion, despite people having different views, In my opinion, although eating unhealthy food can lead to an increased risk of obesity and chronic diseases, banning fast food advertising is not the only solution. The government must educate people about the health risks associated with the consumption of fast food. However, it must be made mandatory for every fast food outlet to maintain high safety standards and keep alternative healthy food options on the menu.