Some people think that keeping pets is good for children while others think it is dangerous and unhealthy for them. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

In modern society, the number of households with pets is increasing. Some critics argue that pets are dangerous and unhealthy for pupils while some claim that it's beneficial for them. This essay will discuss both the positive and negative effects of possessing pets for children with examples, nevertheless, I strongly believe that keeping pets can be beneficial for pupils. On the one hand, having pets in the household can provide multifold benefits for the child's mental health. This is because pets act as best friends for the pupil and provide unconditional love. For instance, dogs have been famously known as "man's best friend" for hundreds of years because of their loyalty to their owner and the emotional support it brings to mankind. As a result, it's evidently clear that the emotional support it contributes to a child's growth is significantly vital. On the other hand, keeping pets in the household can have a negative downside on the health aspect of children. The reasons are twofold, firstly, pets tend to spend the majority of their time outside on the grass and dirt. As a result, without proper and regular maintenance, they bring bacteria and insects which can be detrimental to a young child. Secondly, young children are more susceptible to allergies as their immune systems aren't performing at their peak level. For example, younger individuals who are exposed to bacteria are more likely to develop allergies. Therefore, being around pets that are not properly maintained may develop new allergies for younger individuals. In conclusion, the advantages and disadvantages of owning a pet for children are evidently clear as mentioned above. Nonetheless, with the appropriate and regular maintenance, I strongly believe that the benefits of owning a pet for children significantly outweigh the disadvantages.