some people believe that Government money should be spent on important things rather than arts such as painting and music. To what extent agree or disagree.

Some schools of thought have suggested that the ruling authority should invest more in arts and entertainment which are considered as being very crucial. Personally, I disagree with this opinion that government spending should be more directed to promoting arts and music. This essay will first argue that governmental emphasis should be more on improving the social welfare of people which can be more easily appreciated, and then submit that only a fraction of the community who have an interest in visual and dramatic arts will benefit from such government spending. Firstly, in many developing nations, a large number of people are still living within the poverty range, and cannot even afford basic needs of life such as food, clothing, and shelter. Therefore, it will be most sensible if the organized power can put measures in place to alleviate people's suffering rather than diverting such funds to the development of arts. For instance, if the ruling council, invests more in programs that will encourage the provision of more housing facilities for the ordinary people, the impact of governance can be more felt by the populace. Furthermore, only a minority of the entire population are interested in arts and entertainment. Therefore, committing state limited resources to these sectional areas may not be wise spending. It will be rather more productive; if the government can place more value on areas that will likely touch more lives. For instance, in a recent survey conducted in the western part of Africa, assessing the public opinion on what they considered as the most important area, they feel the authorities should invest more; many of the respondents did not mention anything relating to art or music. Thus, going by popular opinion, it is obvious that only very people value arts and or music. However; spending on arts or music can help to project a country's cultural image and values and should not be totally neglected, allocation in this area should be reduced, and more emphasis is placed on more pressing areas. In conclusion, spending on arts and entertainment should be drastically reduced, rather emphasis should be on the basic needs of people so as to alleviate their suffering,especially in the developing nations, where things are still very tough for the ordinary people.