Loneliness is an increasing problem in many societies,especially among elderly. Why is this? How might it be remediated.

Being lonely has been becoming a major concern in today’s sophisticated world,particularly among the old generation. This is mainly due to the generation gap and hectic work schedule, and these problems could be mitigated by educating elders to use modern gadgets and improving work-life balance. The tangible cause of increasing isolation among elders is the age gap with teenagers. To be precise, the new generation often believes that old people are boring, as they are hesitant to accept the rapidly changing technology. For example, aged people may have a lack of knowledge about technology, such as social media, the internet and mobile devices, so, they do not have anything to discuss with the rest of the family members in common, which will inevitably lead to loneliness. Another predominant reason would be the busy lifestyle. Of late, individuals are more likely to spend a huge amount of time on their work, rather than spending quality time with family. Therefore, it is evident that many aged parents are left alone at home since others are swamped with their office work. There are two effective ways that can be adopted to remediate this issue. Firstly, educate elders about the changes in technology to cope with the modern lifestyle. The generation gap will be declined if the elderly are learned to use the technology effectively, because they can involve in the conservation with their young children. Secondly, enhance work-life harmony. For instance, even though individuals are working for their families, if they fail to spend time with them, their life will be incomplete. Hence, people should manage their time in such a way that they can have meals together with parents at least once a day, which will obviously aid them to break lonely life. To conclude, the old generation is suffering from isolated life due to the unbalanced work-life of their children and the advancements in technology. These problems can be eradicated when the aged community learn some essential new skills and youngers commence giving priority to their parents.