The number of overweight children in developed countries is increasing. Some people think this is due to problems such as the growing number of fast food outlets. Other believe that parents are to blame for not looking after their children’s health. To what extent do you agree with these views?

Nowadays, there is a significant increase in obese children in developed countries. Actually, this thought-provoking debate, whether the parents are the main reason behind this phenomenon or the growing number of fast-food outlets has caused a ruckus among myriads of citizens. This essay will depict how both sides of the coin contributed to this. On the one hand, fast food might cause overweight. The main reason given to support this claim is that due to the increased pace of life, fast food is gaining popularity in all parts of the world. For example,items like burgers, pizza and potato fries are very much famous among the kids. These items have a high caloric count as they are rich in carbohydrates and fats. Moreover, they are made cheaper to attract customers. So, all this disturbs the equilibrium in the body of a youngster, and he starts gaining weight. On the other hand, the elders are so much busy in their jobs that they are not paying proper attention to their families. First, the mothers tend to buy time by serving ready-made food to the young ones. Furthermore, there is a rising trend in the families to go out for excursions and have dinner in a restaurant. All this increases the use of unhealthy meals and this is the main cause of gaining weight of the growing body. For instance, about 67% of the school-going population are obese due to the frequent use of hot dogs in the USA. In conclusion, I personally acquiesce that both factors took part in these children's overweight. I think that it's a matter of great concern and has to be resolved by proper education of all the tiers of life so that our future generation is disease-free and more productive.