Some people think that zoo are cruel and all zoos should closed.However, some people think zoo can help protect animals Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Certain people opine that Zoos are inhumane for keeping animals and hence should not be allowed to operate while others believe that they act as a means of preserving animals from harm. I agree with the latter statement because without these places, certain animal species could become extinct as a result of poaching and it serves as a means of assisting them for therapeutic purposes. On one hand, keeping animals caged can be seen as a restriction on their freedom. This is so because just like humans value the free will they have of moving about and engaging in whatever activities they please, animals too wish for the same. Therefore, keeping them in a zoo really limits the number of activities they can do and just isolates them further. Take, for example, lions which are said to thrive under their normal habitant, are severely affected negatively by these places resulting in their deaths. Moreover, these confined animals ' needs are not fully met while they are in a zoo. This is so because people do not fully comprehend their minute needs due to insufficient knowledge on what things they need on a particular day. Nonetheless, keeping them caged does bring benefits. On the other hand, when animals are kept at a zoo, it helps to keep them safe from poachers. To put this in perspective, only when animals are kept under strict watch can they be fully protected from harm that results from poaching. This is so because poachers tend to kill all types of animals for sport and for food which means that even animals that are not considered as food are also endangered. For instance, in a survey conducted on the effects of poaching on the population of animals, it was determined that more than 70 per cent of the population was killed through these means. This does not occur to the animals that are kept in a zoom. Additionally, to keep the health of animals in check, zoos provide the best environment for laboratory research to save the ailing animals unlike when animals are in the forests by themselves. By way of conclusion, I reaffirm my statement that despite the fact that zoos may limit animal freedom, they provide the best form of protection for these from extinction and as a way to offer the best medical aid. Therefore, it would not help to close these places.