Some countries sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages to this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

A number of nations host sporting competition as a means to publicize themselves. While some individuals believe that this is a worthwhile step, others have considered it as disadvantageous. This essay agrees with the latter schools of thought that the negative consequences of sponsoring such sporting contests due to the huge financial burden that it often demands can be a serious strain on a nation's economy. The essay will discuss both views. On the one hand, hosting a sporting festival or competition; can bring a lot of prospects for a country, aside from advertising it. One of such prospects is the ability to generate funds for the nation. This is made possible through the large number of teeming sports lovers it attracts to the hosting nation, who will have to buy tickets to watch live matches. In addition, the country also gets royalties from trophies and awards won by their nationals in the course of the competition. Furthermore, the market for their local commodities also increases, as foreign nationals who visited the hosting community will have to buy local products from the organizing nation. For example, the Atlanta 1996 Olympics sporting competition affords the host nation the opportunity to make a lot of money through sales of tickets and an expanded market. On the other hand, sponsoring such sports can wreak a lot of havoc on the economy of the hosting nations by putting a huge financial strain on the nation's budget. In a bid to have a good global rating with respect to the performance in event of hosting the sporting Olympics, the concerned country will have to expend a colossal amount of money to take care of logistics necessary for the success of the competitive event. Therefore, other aspects of the economy suffer greatly especially spending on social welfare that has a direct effect on the populace. For instance, spending on health may have to be reduced to cater for the expenses of the sport, which means people's health will suffer greatly. In conclusion; sponsoring sport will not only promote the image of a nation but also open up an avenue to generate funds. However, I believe the humungous financial burden it entails can be a serious strain and drain on the economy and as such a worrying negative side.