The internet is generally considered as a blessing for mankind. Do the advantages of it outweigh its disdvantages?

The internet has revolutionized the world dynamically over the past few decades. It has been hailed as a boon for all the sections of mankind in a wide variety of ways. However, this is not to say it is without blemishes. This essay is an attempt to evaluate whether its benefits are greater than its drawbacks or not. on the positive side, the internet is an excellent aid to study. For instance, students can refer to any information instantly and prepare their projects at ease. In the case of adults, telecommuting is a blessing, which can save them a lot of commuting and stress, and tension at the workplace. Email, e-banking, e-commerce, and e-shopping changed the social scenario unrecognizably. Perhaps, another feather to the internet is greater cooperation and understanding among global nations of the world b wa of globalization. On the negative side, the internet can be harmful in many ways. Internet games, for instance, can easily distract students from their studies. That is, when a child spends an enormous amount of time in front of these games, he or she forgets about her homework and revision. Moreover pornographic sites can mislead children. Finally, moving on to the more serious danger of the internet, cyber crimes are rampant and this technology is being extensively exploited by terrorists to perpetuate violence and lawlessness. Briefly, it can be established that the merits of the internet are numerous and they certainly outweigh its demerits. The negative aspects of it are, no doubt, severe. But, once they are overcome the internet can certainly termed as a blessing for mankind.