The range and quality of food we can buy has changed due to technological and scientific advances. Some people believe the range and quality of food has improved while others consider it may be harmful. Discuss both points of view and give your opinion.

There is no doubt that many changes have been made to our food in recent years. The question is, are these changes good or bad? In this essay, I will discuss both points of view on this topic. First, in terms of advantages, many improvements were made in food, such as genetically modified crops, so they have a longer shelf life, and developed many other variations of food than what is naturally grown. The main reason given to support this claim is that this specific technology made a huge advance in our food resources. To illustrate, farmers face a lot of challenges during the harvesting season; they try to make the process as fast as possible so no food waste is applicable. For instance, tomatoes are one of the fast-rotting vegetables; as soon as they reach the shelves in the supermarket, it is only a matter of time till they decay; therefore, scientific techniques are a necessity at this point. However, I can see why some people are against produce modifications and prefer eating organic. Initially, some issues can be linked to these improvements, for example, some illnesses are linked to these kinds of modifications, such as Alzheimer's disease, although it is still not scientifically proven and is still under study. Secondly, a lot of the community, especially parents, are really considerate to what they feed their children, and they will prefer to avoid anything that has a possibility of side effects on their kids. In conclusion, while there are people who are against any kind of advances, many still support it and consider it a privilege that we have due to science and knowledge, and we can design our own food. Therefore, I believe that the positive effects dominate the problems. Moreover, it is still important that certain steps must be taken to ensure that this phenomenon is safe from deteteriorating our future.