Some people claim that public museums and art galleries will not be needed because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is suggested whether it is necessary to maintain public museums and art galleries. Some people argue that computers have given us access to historical objects and artworks, so museums are no longer needed. I strongly disagree with this opinion, and I believe that traditional museums and galleries are irreplaceable and bring unique benefits. Undoubtedly, appreciating artworks on a computer is no substitute for visiting museums and galleries, since computers are not able to offer the same feelings and experiences to audiences as physical museums and galleries do. To state it more clearly, it is widely acknowledged that first -hand observation enables better feeling and experiences to appreciate artworks, which means audiences have to come to museums and galleries, to gain an in-depth understanding of the background stories and author's intentions behind the works. For example, I visited the Forbidden City Museum for seeing the national treasures, from where I appreciated those fine china from the texture and painting to understand what the past empire life looks like, and literally feel the changing times through the faded colours. However, such affluent experience can not be gained by simply searching via computers. Further and more importantly, museums and galleries are still necessary for two main reasons. The first reason is that museums and art galleries offer many employment opportunities. It is known that many people work in art galleries, including management workers and art creators. Hence, they will lose their jobs if these venues are removed now. Another reason is that many museums are landmarks in the cities. For example, the British Museum in London and the Forbidden City Museum in Beijing, are landmarks and symbols that are essential to their cities. Therefore, it is necessary to keep museums and galleries running for the above reasons. In conclusion, based on the evidence analyzed, I believe public museums and art galleries should not be closed simply because of the development of technology such as computers, as they could bring indispensable benefits as well as are necessary to the public.