Some people believe that governments should make the ​investment in building public libraries in every town, while others think it is a waste of money because we have access to information via the Internet. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is no denying the fact that the main purpose of public libraries is debatable. While, there is a commonly held belief that building new libraries in each town is a great move that the government should make, there is also an argument opposite it. In my opinion, public libraries are something important that can not be neglected even when the direction nowadays is toward the Internet. To begin with, these libraries contain a magnificent number of books and resources that you may not be able to find on the Internet. For example, some old libraries house a huge number of old books and scrolls which are rare, or books where authors only released a single edition of their books. Although, many people prefer having the information needed via the Internet, others are still using the previous way which is searching the sources in the libraries. Therefore, keeping these buildings also encourages people to read more and broaden their knowledge, not only searching the Internet which might have false data or misleading news regarding a specific topic. On the other hand, the Internet offers an easy method for getting data and this process is convenient as any person on the Internet can access any site from his smartphone or laptop without having to make an extra effort by going to libraries. Furthermore, various sites offer a PDF version of each book or article which is easier to transform into the student's laptop with only "copy & paste" without the need to rewrite the whole paragraph that he desires all over again, which is considered a time-saving process. In conclusion, despite people having various views regarding this issue, I believe that even when the Internet is considered the modern way to get information, it can not take the place of public libraries which are still till now the destination of many students and readers.