Social media marketing can influence what consumers buy. Do you agree or disagree? To what extent do you agree?

For the majority of the global market, social platform applications have become very popular since their invention in the early 2000s. In my opinion, it cannot be argued that these applications such as Twitter, Instagram and Facebook have become sources of information for these global social platforms. As such, it can be argued that marketing, which happens to be the source of information accessible on these social networking websites can influence the buyers who use them. This notion is further supported by the increase in the number of online retail stores which conduct their bulk transactions online. For example, designer consignment stores retailing specifically in high-end designer items such as handbags, jewellery, shoes and clothing. These platforms can be easily accessed by global consumers to make effortless purchases. In addition, these days shoppers on social networking websites are constantly bombarded with advertisements that are specifically designed to catch their attention. This means these are consumer targeted advertisements where they will pop up in line with consumers ' previous online searches or these adverts will be of something that is trending or popular online. Given the fact that mostly the current consumers are younger and can be easily influenced into buying the latest trends, these adverts will almost always specifically target them. As the consumer when you like, share or retweet any feed on social media, these adverts happen to circulate faster than a wildfire. As a result of this habit of sharing, retweeting or liking, most probably the news feed you see on your newsfeed you may have already seen it on your friends' news feed. The fact is the adverts are a form of information on social media and in the age of the internet these adverts are easily accessible via different platforms. It is certainly true that these days social marketing adverts have a strong influence on consumers ' buying habits and can influence the targeted buyer with consumer-specific marketing. In conclusion, it is clearly evident that in this age of globalisation, these adverts are easily accessible and constantly encourage young users to follow and buy the latest trending products.