wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Each animal play a vital role in our ecosystem. However, in the present, it is argued that they do not belong in our advanced world and protecting them is just a wastage of funds. I firmly disagree with the above statement and will explain why we should make an effort to protect them. First of all, saving animals are not a waste of funds. These creatures are important to keep the balance in our ecosystem, from the biggest to the smallest ones they have their role to fulfill. For example, the bears are responsible for dispersing seeds of berries and other fruits they consume in a daily basis, which aid in generating more fruit-bearing plants in the forest. If they will cease to exist, number of trees and plants will significantly decline and will cause a negative outcome to humans, resulting to less food resources. Thus, we should not discard them. Second, protecting animals is our sole responsibility. No one else would have the ability to do so and we should act before its too late. As we know, some of them are already extinct such as the woolly mammoth, which is believed to be closedly related to a modern-day elephant. If we fail to save them, the future generation will only be seeing these type of animals through books and videos. Not only that, their loss will abrupt the natural flow of biological community of interacting organisms and their environment. That is why we should be aware of our role to save them. In conclusion, despite the argument that saving animals are just a waste of tax money, I firmly believe that it is not true because failling to do so will lead to decrease of food resources. We should also advocate for their lives. By doing so, we are fulfilling our part to keep the balance in our environment.