The amount of garbage produced by our cities is a big problem for governments around the world.How this problem can be solved?

In the major towns, the magnitude of solid waste generated on daily basis is becoming a great concern for the government. This essay will analyze the various means that the authorities can use to tackle this challenge which include: considering the area of preventing waste generation, substituting the kind of waste being produced from non-degradable ones to those that can be degraded or recycled, and exploring legal measures to discourage indiscriminate waste disposal. Firstly, one area that can be explored is the aspect of preventing waste by harnessing alternatives that are unlikely to lead to waste production in daily business activities. For example, many countries are now trying to reduce the number of stationaries utilized in the running of their organizations by digitalizing some of those tasks that require a large volume of papers to be used. This reduces the magnitude of these types of waste that are being produced significantly. Another aspect that can be considered by the ruling power is the option of substituting some kind of their waste which can be challenging to manage like plastic and rubber products for more environmentally friendly ones that are not difficult to eliminate. For example, instead of using plastic bottles and nylon packages for bottled and sachet water, other options like easily degradable paper products can be explored. Besides, some waste can the rubber products can be easily recycled, making them less burdensome. Finally, the government needs to regulate through legal means the process of domestic and industrial waste generation. This will discourage people from indiscriminately producing waste especially when it is avoidable. For example, if there is a legal sanction placed on companies and individuals for improperly dumping waste in a way that constitutes a nuisance to society, then people will easily comply, and the environment will be better for it. In conclusion, the challenge of waste management requires the government to take proactive measures toward solving it; they may explore the aspect of preventing waste production where possible, replacing complex and non-degradable waste with easily degradable or recyclable ones, and ensuring legal punitive measures to improper waste disposal. It is hoped that in the future, this problem will be a forgotten issue especially if all these measures are put in place.