The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think that this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

There is a widespread belief, that due to tourism, English is the most spoken language worldwide and will supersede all other languages. In this essay, I will explore the benefits and demerits of this trend along with substantiation. Firstly, I will provide an insight into the advantages. Secondly, will discuss the flip side. To begin with, having a single spoken language globally, will aid in the ease of business transactions and comprehending different cultures. Many times, due to language differences there is a communication gap hindering inter-personal relations and understanding. Moreover, People are hesitant to express themselves in a foreign language. For instance, in France having competency in french is prerequisite for any employment opportunities or trade. Consequently, causing individuals to lose out on opportunities due to a lack of understanding of the native language. Hence, a single mode of communication can be a boon than a bane. At the same time, having a sole medium of communication can inhibit a person's sense of identity. Even though a single language can make communication easier, at the same time the world is an amalgamation of different ethnicity and multiple languages are a validation of the same. In addition, languages that are spoken historically have their cultures embedded in them. For instance, Sanskrit is the traditional language of India dating back to thousands of years and is the language of the religious scriptures. Therefore, an adaption of a foreign language instead of the native language will be difficult to accept by the people. In conclusion, there are advantages and disadvantages of having English as the sole language in the world.