Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Processed food and beverages have an excessive amount of sugar in them. This leads to many illnesses in people. It is believed that these products should be marked at a higher price point so that the consumption of sugar by the population goes down. In this essay, I will give reasons why I agree with this statement. To begin with, it will make a significant improvement on people's health. If these items are expensive, consumers will stop consuming them frequently and might only buy them at special events. Additionally, they will also shift to a healthier and cheaper option. For example, if a can of sugary cola is more expensive than a can of lemonade a person will most likely buy the cheaper option. Thus, the pricier the sugary product the lesser the number of people buying it. Moreover, manufacturers will be forced to add less sugar so as to keep their products cheap and to avoid putting expensive labels on them. Companies will be incentivised to do so as with a cheaper item they will be able to target a larger audience of all economic backgrounds thus increasing their business. This type of incentive encourages the companies to produce healthier foods and beverages. In conclusion, I believe that to encourage the public to lower sugar consumption it is a good idea to make sugary products more expensive as it will improve health and companies will be forced to make healthier products so as to not lose customers.