People should look after their health because this is a duty to the society not just a personal benefits. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that citizens must follow a healthy lifestyle as a service to their community rather than to achieve individual fitness goals. I agree with this statement for 2 reasons which I will elucidate further in the essay. However, I do concede that taking care at the personal level is convenient but can be daunting at the same time. Individuals need to follow a fitness regime that not only satiates their goals but also takes care of society as a whole. The reason is when each person encourages another person to follow a healthy lifestyle it will automatically increase the health of the society, as a result less number of citizens will have to travel to the hospitals. For example, Japanese citizens consume healthy food and encourage the same to other residents as a result Japan has the highest number of people having age above 85 years. Furthermore, if in a society where promoting health is seen as a duty then in such societies residents can take a wise decision. The reason being is that fitness level is directly linked with the conscious brain where decision making occurs. For instance, a growing body of research suggests that those who are involved in any kind of physical activity tend to be more agile and quick as compared to those who are not involved in such actions. In conclusion, if every individual sees fitness as their obligation then it will help the societies to be disease-free as well as communities can make smart decisions. The nature of these two things mostly depends on one's fitness level.