These days, many people have their own computer and telephone, so it is quite easy for them to do their job at home. Does working at home have more advantages or more disadvantages?

These days due to the current environment more and more people are preferring to work from home as amenities like the internet, laptop/computer and mobile are easily accessible from most of the places without being present at the job. On balance, I would argue working remotely from home has more negative impacts than positives. One advantage to employees of working from the privacy of their home is freedom, in other words, control over their own lives. Staff working from the house can organise their schedule according to their preferred schedule and still meet the set deadlines related to their job. People can for example pick up their children from school or other daily activities, they can do their laundry and cooking in the daytime and still finish their job activities and meet the deadlines later in the day. Overall, it is all about having the flexibility to do things and having more control of their lives. Despite these positive impacts, however, there are negatives as well. Employees may sit by themselves without any personal interaction with other colleagues which could result in feelings of loneliness. Staff for example at the office get together to discuss everyday work issues or to have a chat, being alone without any real face-to-face conversations and the right team atmosphere can lead to less productivity and feelings of isolation and loneliness. Another drawback of working remotely is the absence of employees presence to solve important issues within the company which may arise at the spur of the moment. Worker's absence for example from the situation could give that opportunity of solving an immediate issue to someone else. If this happens on regular basis, the employee's importance to the company may decline, meaning a higher probability of being overlooked for opportunities like promotion. In conclusion, although there are positives and negatives associated with not working from the office, the negatives outweigh the positives. Working remotely can give an individual their freedom but can also exacerbate feelings of isolation and loneliness, further it could deprive them of other opportunities like a promotion. Workers should therefore carefully consider whether to work from their house remotely or from the company premises.