Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one?

In recent times most school-going children have mobile phones. Many schools have banned the use of cellular devices on their campus. In my opinion, this is a good decision as it will not only improve the learning process but also encourage social interactions amongst students. To begin with, less phone access improves the learning experience. Without their phones, students will have fewer distractions in school and they will be able to focus well on what is being taught in their class. For instance, it is difficult for children to pay their utmost attention to the teacher they are constantly getting notifications on their device from various applications and are tempted to check them. These endless distractions can draw attention away from the lessons and can have a long term effect on academic progress. Thus, the fewer distractions, the better the quality of learning. Moreover, a ban on mobile phones in school will promote social interactions. Students will start talking more with their peers rather than just scrolling on their phones. During their lunch breaks, for example, pupils can engage in discussions with others and can even play physical games with each other. If there is no ban, students will just use their phones whenever they get a chance to and this might affect their social life and might not learn how to make new friends. A blanket ban will not only keep them physically active but also, help them learn how to navigate social interactions. In conclusion, despite phones being a part of our modern lives, I believe it is crucial to restrict the use of mobile phones on campus as it will improve the learning process as well as encourage social interactions.