These days, many university courses are offered through the internet. Some people think that online teaching has more advantages than conventional classroom teaching or lectures, while others claim that there are significant disadvantages. Do the benefits of online teaching outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, large numbers of online courses are available in many universities. It is often discussed as a controversial issue whether there are more benefits or more drawbacks to distance learning. From my point of view, I believe there are more disadvantages than advantages. In this essay, I will discuss both views in detail. On the one hand, students can get large numbers of benefits by taking e-learning studies. Firstly, streaming web-based courses provides significant convenience for students. Since they do not need to be physically in schools, they can save their time and money. To give a clear example, a student does not have to pay for the transportation systems to attend the school which saves their transportation fees and commuting time. Secondly, it gives learners immediate access to the faculties. Learners can instantly reach out to the professors with questions and view class documents on the internet. For instance, if there is something they do not understand in the field of their study, they are able to ask through the internet which is difficult for students who attend in-person classes because they typically need to wait until the scheduled class time to meet a professor or peers. On the other hand, there are some problems that emerge along with positive aspects. To begin with, there is no physical contact with classmates, and as a consequence, that may lead to miscommunication or isolation. For example, some research shows that 70% of pupils who take online courses find it more difficult to communicate with peers and find it hard to do some projects as a team. On top of that, they are more likely to encounter technical issues during class. Due to the large numbers of people attending the same platform at the same time, problems with network connections or servers may arise. From my experience, I had difficulties with network connections when I took a distance class. There was a delay between the sound and the visual. To conclude, although there are some advantages to online courses such as convenience and immediate access to the faculties, there are less in-person interaction and technical issues as well. I personally believe the drawbacks outweigh the benefits.