Write about the following topic: Some people think that current environmental issues are global problems and should therefore be dealt with by the government while others believe that these problems can only be tackled by individuals. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Environmental concerns such as air pollution, water pollution, global warming and climate change have got out of hand during the last few years, and people have different views about whether those problems should be solved by authorities or individuals. In my opinion, the government and citizens should work together and share the responsibility for protecting the planet. Some people believe that it is the government that has to deal with environmental issues in the country for the simple reason that they have the authority, which individuals do not possess, to impose new laws and hinder people from harming the environment. For example, they can collect heavy tax on carbon emissions from mass production factories and industrial waste from corporate companies. This will encourage big businesses to come up with more eco-friendly methods of waste management. Moreover, environmental campaigns should be launched by the government to raise public awareness of how current problems could be tackled by organisations and individuals. However, no matter how much the government forces the citizens to abide by the environmental laws or conduct campaigns to make the public more aware of the global problems which are threatening the existence of living species on earth, it is individuals who decide to cooperate with the government in making a change. Unless they stop throwing rubbish into rivers regardless of the law, it will still be impossible for the government to create a better place for sea creatures. Thus, Individuals have to educate themselves on the importance of a balanced ecosystem and understand the consequences of their actions. In conclusion, environmental problems are such urgent issues that both the government and individuals should work together to mitigate them.