In some places, old age is valued, while in other cultures youth is considered more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Although many believe the younger generations have more value, others still defend that the elderly should have higher importance. The purpose of this essay is to discuss both sides of this argument, and then I will give my opinion, which considers the older are worthy more respect. On the one hand, people above 60 years old have some advantages over young adults and teenagers. Mainly due to the fact they worked during their whole lives and took care of their children. Therefore, they have already contributed to society and they deserve to be able to enjoy their retirement. In addition, the experiences and wisdom they carry are priceless and everyone could learn a lot from them. For instance, in countries like Japan, young people not only respect but admire and look up to older people. On the other hand, there are those who argue younger generations are more useful. One of the reasons is because they work and contribute more to society. For example, some people refer to the elderly as useless, because they are not generating wealth for the country anymore, only expenses for the youth to pay with their work. Besides, the younger a person is, the easier is to adapt, as these generations are already used to having releases and abrupt changes. As technology has been advancing fast, every year we have near inventions, such as smartphones and televisions with new functions, and the younger always find it easier to learn everything and enjoy it. In conclusion, I believe both sides have merits. On balance, it is my opinion that some valuable knowledge is only learned with time. This is because it is my firm belief that the older generation worked hard and carry experiences that can benefit society, so I feel that they should receive respect, gratitude and be able to enjoy the end of their lives, as everyone will get old someday.