Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

In recent years crime and punishment have been a topic of debate among the elite of society. Some argue that all crimes should have a fixed punishment in regard to the circumstances that led to the crime.while others believe that individual situations and motives should be taken into consideration when sentencing culprits. In this essay I will be discussing both points of view and why I strongly stand with the second notion. To begin with, fixed punishment such as the death penalty and life imprisonment has resulted in a decline in criminal activities in many countries. A recent article that was published in the GARDEN stat that middle eastern countries have consistently ranked near the top in regard to low- crime rate. and this is because of the harsh and fixed punishments that helped deter criminals. However, persecuting a convict without considering the circumstances that led to that person committing a crime is a serious violation of basic human rights. For instance, in the case of involuntary,homicide the killer here can be a victim because he might act in self-defence or a person stealing food to feed his family. In cases like, this a judge should take into consideration all the steps that resulted in the criminal act. In conclusion, having a fixed punishment can be beneficial resulting in a lower crime rate. However, the justice system should be more flexible toward miner felonies and take into consideration the circumstances that led to a certain crime.